December 11, 2013

TD Garden to host 2015 Frozen Four

By Joshua Kummins

NCAA hockey's premier championship event is headed back to Boston.

The 2015 Frozen Four will be held at TD Garden, bringing the Division 1 men's NCAA championship back to Boston for the first time in 11 years. Division 1 hockey was one of 82 sports for which upcoming championship sites were announced Wednesday, as part of an NCAA record 523-site announcement.

After Boston becomes the center stage of college hockey in April 2015, the next three Division 1 men's events will take place in Tampa, Fla. (2016), Chicago (2017) and St. Paul (2018). BC raised its most recent banner at the Tampa Bay Times Forum in 2012.

The Dunkin' Donuts Center in Providence, R.I. and the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, N.H. will host Division I regionals in 2015. DCU Center in Worcester, Mass. will welcome back the Northeast bracket in 2016.

The University of New Hampshire will not only serve as host of the aforementioned regional in Manchester, but will be busy the following year on its Durham campus as hosts of the 2016 Women's Frozen Four at Whittemore Center Arena. UNH is one of the pioneer schools for collegiate women's ice hockey and will serve as host for the third time.

This will be the third time TD Garden has played host to the men’s Frozen Four. Hockey East will be the host conference. A western school has defeated a Hockey East member on both prior occasions the event was held on Causeway Street. Michigan defeated Boston College in 1998 and Denver beat Maine in 2004.

Twitter: @JoshuaKummins