November 7, 2013

Boston College extends coach Jerry York through 2020

By Andrew Merritt

It appears the Jerry York Era in Chestnut Hill will last at least until the end of the decade.

Boston College announced on Thursday that York’s contract, which would have expired following the 2014-15 season, was extended through the 2019-20 season.

York, the winningest coach in the history of college hockey, is currently in his 20th season behind the BC bench. Should he stay on through the end of the current deal, the Watertown, Mass., native will have been the Eagles’ coach for 26 years. That would match the longest continuous tenure for any BC coach – John “Snooks” Kelley, for whom the Eagles’ home rink is named, coached for a total of 36 years, but was briefly replaced by John Temple and Joseph Glavin while serving in the Navy during the wartime seasons of 1942-46, before retaking the reins until 1972.

York, who was the captain of the 1966-67 BC team (Kelley’s 31st season), is on pace to pass the legendary coach’s Boston College mark of 501 wins. York currently sits at 472 victories at BC, while his 939 total victories over a career spent at Clarkson, Bowling Green and his alma mater are the most of any coach in history.

“I am very excited and proud to extend my contract here at Boston College,” York said in a statement released by the school. “As always, the focus of our program will be to graduate student-athletes and strive to add championships. The current state of Boston College hockey is strong and I envision it only getting stronger.”

During York’s 19-plus seasons at BC, the Eagles have won four national titles - most recently in 2012 - 10 Frozen Four berths, and nine Hockey East championships. After taking Bowling Green to the 1984 NCAA championship, he became one of only three coaches in history to win national titles at two different schools when the Eagles took the 2001 NCAA crown.

York is also one of the longest-tenured active Division I coaches. Only Red Berenson (Michigan, started in 1984), Vermont native Gary Wright (American International, 1984), Rick Gotkin (Mercyhurst, 1988), Melrose, Mass., native Dick Umile (UNH, 1990), Don Vaughan (Colgate, 1992) and Bob Daniels (Ferris State, 1992) have been at their current posts longer than York. Winthrop, Mass., native Paul Pearl (Holy Cross) and Bedford, N.H., native Rand Pecknold (Quinnipiac) both began their current tenures the same season as York, 1994-95.


Twitter: @A_Merritt