June 25, 2012

BC's Milner among invitees for Bruins development camp

By Jesse Connolly

On Monday, the Bruins announced the roster for their upcoming annual development camp, which will get started on Thursday at Ristuccia Arena. 

Parker Milner's .937 save percentage was second in the nation. (Dave Arnold Photography)

There are 29 players in total participating in the event, 22 of which are property of the B’s. The Black and Gold have invited seven NCAA players to join them.

One name that jumps to the forefront among those seven invitees is Parker Milner. Milner, 21, recently led Boston College to a national championship to give the school three titles in the last five years. The Pittsburgh native went 29-5-0 this past his season, his junior year, with a spectacular 1.66 goals-against average and .937 save percentage.

He ended the year riding a personal 20-game winning streak. During the Hockey East tournament, Milner allowed just six goals in four games, as the Eagles defeated Maine in the finals.

The 6-foot-1 netminder was even better in the NCAAs, allowing just two goals in four contests as BC vanquished Air Force, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota and finally Ferris State in the national championship game.

Union junior forward Wayne Simpson (Boxborough, Mass.) and sophomore forward Daniel Carr, who helped the Dutchmen advance to their first-ever Frozen Four in 2012, are also among the invitees.

BU junior winger Justin Courtnall will also be present. Picked by the Lightning in the seventh round back in 2007, the 23-year-old Courtnall had 4-3-7 totals in 39 games for the Terriers in 2011-12.

Here’s the full roster:

Forwards: Darik Angeli, Anthony Camara, Colin Campbell, Daniel Carr, Justin Courtnall, Brian Ferlin, Justin Florek, Seth Griffith, Colton Hargrove, Alex Khokhlachev, Jared Knight, Cody Payne, Ben Sexton, Wayne Simpson, Ryan Spooner

Defensemen: Matt Benning, Chris Casto, Tommy Cross, Matthew Grzelcyk, Dougie Hamilton, Torey Krug, Robbie O’Gara, Zach Trotman

Goaltenders: Zane Gothberg, Parker Milner, Adam Morrison, Malcolm Subban, Niklas Svedberg, Lars Volden

Jesse Connolly can be reached at jconnolly@hockeyjournal.com. Follow him on Twitter at @JesseNEHJ.