April 1, 2010

Finalists for Penrose Award announced

Staff Report

Three coaches from Hockey East and C.J. Marottolo (North Haven, Conn.) of Sacred Heart have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the top Division I men’s hockey coach. To be a finalist for this award, coaches must have either been voted Coach of the Year in their conference or take their team to the Frozen Four.

Jerry York (Watertown, Mass.) of Frozen Four-bound Boston College, Dick Umile (Melrose, Mass.) of New Hampshire and Mark Dennehy (Dorchester, Mass.) of Merrimack are all among the 10 finalists. The winner will be announced after the Frozen Four.

Marottolo led Sacred Heart to a second-place finish in Atlantic Hockey in his first year, and a spot in the tournament championship game, where the Pioneers lost to RIT. He was named coach less than a month before the season, following the resignation of Shaun Hannah.

York guided BC to the Hockey East tournament championship and the Frozen Four after missing the NCAAs a year ago. He also won the Penrose Award in 1977 while coaching at Clarkson.

Umile, the Penrose Award winner in 1999, led UNH to the regular-season title in Hockey East, a run highlighted by an 11-game league unbeaten streak that began in mid-November.

Dennehy guided Merrimack to a sixth-place finish in Hockey East, and a berth in the league playoffs for the first time since 2004.

The other coaches up for the award are Enrico Blasi of Miami, Mike Eaves of Wisconsin, George Gwozdecky of Denver, Nate Leaman of Union, Tom Serratore of Bemidji State and Wayne Wilson of RIT.